020 7353 7884


Michael Sherry Professional Life


Admitted to The Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners


April 2012 Appointed Head of Chambers at Temple Tax Chambers


Chair Chartered Accountants' Business Law Committee;
May 2003 Wyman Debate - Head of Policy Inland Revenue and Head of Policy Customs & Excise; April 2003 Panellist CFE Forum, Brussels; Participated in EU Commission panel of experts on possible use of IAS for a common consolidated corporate tax base, March 2003



April 2002 Panellist at EU Conference at invitation of EU Commission;
UK panel representative invited by the EU Commission to participate in the open conference on harmonisation of the corporate tax base in Europe;
September 2002 Gray's Inn Barristers' Committee.


Elected to the Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants for a term of three years.

Appointed* a United Kingdom representative to the Federation of European Tax Professionals (CFE)

Elected Chairman of the Tax Faculty of the Institute of Chartered Accountants for a term of two years.


Elected President of the Institute of Indirect Taxation, a position he held until early 1999


Michael was asked to sit on an Inland Revenue confidential consultation which resulted in the rewriting of the Settlement provisions (Taxes Act 1988 sections 660A-660G.)


1985 to  1992
Secretary of the Revenue Bar Association, during which time he was much involved in the development of direct access to the Bar.


1984 -  1985

Completed pupillages in Chancery and Tax Chambers before being offered a place at 3 Temple Gardens Tax Chambers from where he has since carried on his independent practice.


1978 -  1983
Joined Ernst & Young's predecessor firm Arthur Young where he qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 1981 and gained admission to the Chartered Institute of Taxation in 1982.
He was a founder member of Ernst & Young's oil industry tax group.


 Law degree at Oxford in 1977 followed by Bar Finals in 1978.


 Scholarship to Lincoln College, Oxford

 * Reappointed 2001, 2002, 2003 

Chambers is consistently recognised as a Leading Tax Set in the Chambers and Partners and Legal 500 Directories

Our Members

Alun James
Michael Sherry
Jonathan S. Schwarz
Tim Brown
Scott Redpath
Michael Collins
Philip Ridgway
Stephen Arthur
Michael Quinlan
Keith M Gordon
Ximena Montes Manzano
Lyndsey Frawley
David Pett
Michael Avient
Denis Edwards
Siobhan Duncan

Our Clerks

Lucy Campbell
Senior Clerk
Cindy Green
Kaylin O'Rourke
Tracey Oliver
Chambers' Administrator

Latest Publications

View All

Keith M Gordon

David Pett

Jonathan S. Schwarz

David Pett

Ximena Montes Manzano

David Pett

Keith M Gordon

Keith M Gordon

Alun James
Michael Collins

Philip Ridgway

Jonathan S. Schwarz

Get In Touch / Case Enquiry